Incumbent Kagadi LC 5 Chairperson Suffers Defeat

By Leilah Bbaale 

Stephen Mfasingabo, the incumbent Kagadi District LC 5 Chairperson is crying foul after failing to defend his seat in the just concluded local government polls. He lost to the National Resistance Movement-NRM candidate, Yosia Ndibwami who polled 46,343 votes against Mfasingabo’s 28,701 votes.

Mfasingabo contested as an independent after losing the NRM primaries. Other candidates in the race include the Ann Nasaka from the National Unity Platform-NUP who polled 2,209 votes and independent, Eliot Besimaki who managed 1057 votes.

In his victory speech shortly after being declared elected by Robert Twikirize, the Kagadi District Returning Officer, Ndibwami pledged to fight tribal tensions that he said are on the rise in the district.

He called for cooperation among the people of Kagadi to usher development in the district.

Recommended For You

About the Author: spice