KCCA, Vipers Players Dominate Provisional Squad for U-23 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup

By Leilah Bbaale

Newly appointed Uganda Kobs Head coach Morley Byekwaso has named a 40-man squad for the upcoming U-23 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup. The tournament will take place July 3-18 in Ethiopia.

The squad is dominated by players from top Uganda Premier League sides, KCCA FC, Vipers SC, SC Villa and Express and several youngsters from Uganda Hippos team that reached the finals of the 2021 Africa Cup of nations U-20 event.

The Uganda Hippos youngsters in the squad include; Kizito Gavin, Aziizi Kayondo, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Isma Muguluusi, Steven Sserwadda, Musa Ramadhan, Richard Basangwa, Samuel Ssenyonjo and U-20 top Scorer Derrick Kakooza.

The tournament is for players below 23 years of age however the tournament rules allow three players above that category to feature.  Uganda has also taken the advantage of this rule and named three senior players for experience and guidance to the youngsters

The senior players named are; goalkeepers Ismail Watenga and Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC), Striker Yunus Ssentamu, defender Murushid Juuko, and midfielder Saidi Kyeyume.

FUFA Communications Director Ahmed Hussien confirmed that the summoned players will meet at FUFA House in Mengo on Friday 18th June 2021 at 8am and then head to Cranes Paradise Hotel in Kisaasi for residential camp.

The Squad Summoned

Goalkeepers: Watenga Ismail (Chippa United FC), Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC), Otim Dennis (Express FC), Keni Saidi (SC Villa), Kibowa Eric (UPDF FC), Matovu Hassan Muyomba (KCCA FC)

Defenders:  Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Begisa James Penz (UPDF FC), Walusimbi Enock (Express FC), Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (Vipers SC), Ndahiro Derrick (SC Villa), Kaddu George (Wakiso Giants FC), Juuko Murushid (Express FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC), Ssemakula Kenneth (BUL FC), Magambo Peter (KCCA FC), Mukundane Hillary (Mbarara City FC)

Midfielders:  Byaruhanga Bobosi (Vipers SC), Kiggundu Derrick (Soltilo Bright Stars FC), Watambala Abdul Karim (Vipers SC), Kyeyune Saidi (Unattached), Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Ssenyonjo Hassan ( Wakiso Giants FC), Anukani Bright (KCCA FC), Mugulusi Isam (Busoga United FC), Kabonge Nicholas ( SC Villa), Salim Abdallah (SC Villa).

Forwards:  Bogere Ivan (Wakiso Giants FC), Masereka Saddam (SC Villa), Poloto Julius (KCCA FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Yiga Nagib (Vipers SC), Kiwanuka Hakim (Proline FC), Ssentamu Yunus (Vipers SC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Anaku Sadat (KCCA FC), Ssebufu Frank (Wakiso Giants FC), Kambale Eric Kenzo (Express FC) and Lwanga Charles (KCCA FC)

Recommended For You

About the Author: spice