Beti Kamya Appointed IGG

By Leilah Bbaale

President Yoweri Museveni has appointed the former Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development, Beti Olive Kamya as the new Inspector General of Government.

Kamya and the other appointments were made public through the President’s official Twitter handle on Thursday. Kamya will be deputized by Anne Muhairwe.

“By the Powers given to me under Article 223(4) of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, I hereby, appoint Inspector General of Government – Beti Namisango Kamya.  Deputy Inspector of Government – Anne Muhairwe,” reads part of Museveni’s communication.

The President also named Mariam Wangadya who has been the Deputy IGG as the new Chairperson of the Uganda Human Rights Commission (UHRC).

The Inspectorate of Government (IG) and UHRC have for long remained without substantive heads after the office of the IGG fell vacant on July 5, 2020, following the expiry of the contract of Justice Irene Mulyagonja after serving for eight years and the death of the previous chairperson of the UHRC Med Sozzi Kaggwa in November 2019 respectively.

The absence of the IGG crippled work of the Inspectorate of Government and officials in the institution severally reported that they could not sign charge sheets, which require the consent of the IGG and all charge sheets are being forwarded to the Directorate of Public Prosecution (DPP) who has powers to prosecute.

The Inspectorate could only carry out investigations and submit the papers to the DPP for approval while the Appointment Board of the IG, which is supposed to be chaired by the IGG remained dysfunctional.

On the other hand, Uganda Human Rights Commission (UHRC) has rendered the body handicapped for more than a year in the absence of a Commission Chairperson.

Museveni also appointed Lucy Nakyobe Mbonye as the Head of Public Service and Secretary to Cabinet and Jane Barekye as the State House Comptroller.

Nakyobe has been previously serving as the State House Comptroller and she replaces John Mitala who has now been appointed as senior presidential advisor on public service.

The former Minister of Defence Adolf Mwesigye is the new Clerk to Parliament replacing Jane Kibirige. Last month, Mwesige who is also the former Member of Parliament Bunyangabu County asked President Museveni to consider him for either the position of chairperson or member of UHRC.

Keith Muhakanizi, who has been Minister of Finance Permanent Secretary and Secretary to Treasury has been moved to the Office of the Prime Minister -OPM. Muhakanizi has been replaced by economist Ramathan Ggobi.

In the other appointments, Alex Kakooza is the new Principal Private Secretary to the Vice President. Kakooza has been serving as Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education and Sports has been replaced with Kate Lamaro.

Geraldine Ssali, the former Deputy Managing Director National Social Security Fund (NSSF) is the new Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Trade, Industry and Cooperatives while Rosette Byengoma and Dr Diana Atwiine have been retained as Permanent Secretaries in the Ministry of Defence and Veteran Affairs and Ministry of Health respectively.

The President has also appointed Lt. Gen. Joseph Musanyufu as Permanent Secretary Ministry of Internal Affairs, Yunus Kakande Office of the President, Maj. Gen David Kyomukama Kasura Permanent Secretary Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries, Batebe Irene, Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development, Vincent Bagiire, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Aggrey Kibenge, Ministry of Gender, Labour and Social Development, Dorcas Okalany, retained as Permanent Secretary Ministry of Lands, Housing and Urban Development.

Dr Amina Zawedde in Ministry of Information, Communication, Technology and National Guidance, Robert Kasande in Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Affairs, Benjamin Kumumanya in Ministry of Local Government and others.

The others include Doreen Katusiime as Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Tourism, Wildlife and Antiquities, Alfred Okidi, Ministry of Water and Environment, Bageya Waiswa, Ministry of Works and Transport, Edith Mwanje, Ministry of East African Community Affairs Rose Kafeero to continue as Secretary in the Inspectorate of Government.

Pius Bigirimana has been maintained as Secretary to the Judiciary, Mary Wenene, in Health Service Commission, Dr Godfrey Mbabazi under Public Service Commission, Dr  Nassali Lukwago, Judicial Service Commission, Alex Okello, Ethics and Integrity and Dr Asuman Lukwago under the Education Service Commission.

Recommended For You

About the Author: spice